Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 26th, 2009

Making Salad Dressing?

Nah, just taking care of my skin.  I’ve been continuing the honey facial masques followed by an apple cider vinegar chaser and then a wee bit of jojoba oil. Lessee–the deep creases on my forehead have been almost completely puffed back out, my skin is incredibly soft, and my rosacea is very much better.  I will confess, though, that the little beauty bag in the bathroom looks a bit odd, with its bottles of honey, vinegar, and oil.

Plus, compare the costs.

  • 1 bottle of honey – about $4.99 at the farmer’s market
  • 1 bottle organic unfiltered apple cider vinegar – 16 oz for $3.29 at the Vitamin Shoppe
  • 1 small bottle jojoba oil – 4 oz for $9.99 at the Vitamin Shoppe

So about $20 for a supply that will last several months versus

  • Avon facial cleanser – $12
  • Anew moisturizing night cream – $22 to $32, depending on which formulation I get–and I’ve not yet tried an Avon Anew moisturizer/wrinkle repair cream that has accomplished what this inexpensive and simple combination of natural ingredients does.

for $24 to $44 for a supply that will last about a month versus

  • Estee Lauder foaming cleanser – $19
  • Estee Lauder toner – $19.50 to $30
  • Estee Lauder Line and Wrinkle Reducing Cream – $58 – and again, I’ve never found anything under $90 that can accomplish what this simple combination of honey, vinegar, and oil does for my face.

for about $98 for a supply that will last about a month.

I did another skin softening bath last night, starting with a couple of cups of epsom salts dissolved in warm water. Then I massaged some sweet almond oil into my scalp and body and feet, and soaked in the tub. Every now and then I massaged the oil in some more, and got out feeling silky soft.

The lovely I (who is the one that got me the almond oil) brought me a bottle of coconut oil to try next. Since coconut oil is a solid at room temperature, she told me to put the bottle in some hot water so it will melt enough to be usable.  I’ll let you know how it works out.

On another note, we’ve got a winter storm warning predicting ice and freezing rain for the next day and a half or so. Even if the roads are still relatively free of ice tomorrow morning, if the  prediction is still for freezing rain and ice tomorrow, I won’t feel right about going in to the office and risking getting in an accident or stranded 25 miles from home with my mother alone here at my house. That wouldn’t be a good thing.

And on yet another note, Izzybella started her graduate studies in Social Work today. She’s feeling a little panicky, which is completely understanding. I know she’s going to do a great job, though. I know it!

Read Full Post »