Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 30th, 2012

WOOHOO! We did it! We made the cumbersome trek from A through some tricky patches in the middle all the way to Zed!

So what wonderful things in my life begin with Z?

Zard! When the incomparable Izzybella was younger, she was off on some sort of school thing with some theatre friends, and awoke one morning with one of the guys swinging from the rafters yelling “Zard! Wake up!” or something like that, so she got called Zard by a lot of people. Me, I still preferred to call her Lizardbreath.

And I could hardly close out the alphabet without a shout-out to my favourite bilingual muppet, could I?

And, for the record, Zoe is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay cuter than Elmo.

Za. I don’t know what the heck it means, but if you play it on a triple word or triple letter square, it can net you up to 33 points in Words With Friends.

Zero, a very useful number. I like it a lot, at times, like if I want something and I ask how much it is, and they say “zero dollars and zero cents,” then it’s free! Squee! Of course, that never happens. It’s just an illustration. Then there are times I hate zero, like when I hop onto the scale to see how much I lost and it says “zero pounds and zero ounces.” Of course, that doesn’t happen either. It’s either up or down with me.

Zeus, the old lecher.  Izzybella and I once dreamed up a chick lit novel featuring Zeus and his escapades, only we decided not to write it because we’re not huge fans of chick lit.

This artist actually painted Zeus with Hera. But that’s more the exception than the rule.  He only had 6 children with Hera (Ares, Eileithyia, Eris, Hebe, Hephaestus, and Angelos). And trust me, he had a heckuva lot more than just 6 kids. No wonder Hera was always cranky. I’d have been cranky, too. Dirty old man!

And one of my favourite Z things of all: Catching Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz’s. Which I’m hoping to do nicely tonight. I talked to my doctor’s office, and they decided to put me on a Z-pack (Hey! Another Z!) because apparently the first round of antibiotics didn’t entirely knock out my strep throat. So I’m shortly (as soon as I catch up on Words With Friends) going to take all my medicines and try to hit the sack early because tomorrow will be a busy, busy day.

I love you all! Thanks for sharing this journey with me, and I hope you decide to keep visiting.

Read Full Post »